Your top tips for a complete 4x5 virgin.

Camerashy

Popular Poster
I have been using 35mm and medium format cameras for quite a few years developing my own film and making prints. I have an Omega D2 4x5 enlarger that I am in the process of restoring. As a retirement present to myself I have purchased: a Chamonix F1, a 150mm lens, film holders, dark cloth, view camera book, a pack of Shanghi 100 to practice with and a pack of Foma 200. I am reading everything that I can about large format photography online, so how about sharing your top tips with me to help me get started. Any tips on using the F1 would be a bonus.

I'd recommended getting in touch with an lf user close to where you live. Get them to run through using movements etc, processing sheet filmand so on.

Ian

Ian's advice is good.
My own suggestion would be to get a toe in the water as soon as possible. It seems essential to make a few mistakes to become proficient. Everybody goes through this and everybody comes out the other side.
What I'm suggesting below can be done in any order, just as you please. If anyone goes you mere paleteable advice, take it.
Set up the camera a few times, so you're not intimidated by all that folding and adjusting. You don't need to be quick, just familiar and at ease with the machine.
Play with your lens in the hand, setting the shutter and firing it, adjusting the aperture, remembering which way things turn. Learn what different shutter speeds sound like.
If you don't have any spare negs, sacrifice a couple of the cheaper brand and get used to loading and unloading film in the holders. Some people find this intimidating, but it's a simple matter of familiarity. Do it first in the light, then progress to working out how to do it in darkness. (A small tip from my experience: don't close your eyes in the dark.) You need to evolve a reliable method of your own. Don't try to mix loading and unloading in the same session. Do all of one and then all of the other.