Hello from Plymouth University Photography Department

Fatwoul

Hello,

My name is Robin, and I am one of the two photography technicians at the University of Plymouth. Prior to that I was a freelance product photographer in Devon. Before that I studied photography at PCA(D), and before that I did a degree in astrophysics in Leeds.

I fell out of love with photography a few years back for a variety of personal reasons, but have been finding my way back over the last couple of years, having bought far too many old Nikon 35mms, and now messing around with a couple of Fuji digitals. It's becoming a very nice form of therapy for me.

I'm starting to dabble a bit with 5x4 after a very long hiatus, and am hoping to get the students at work a bit more engaged with it, too. Our fleet in uni consists of Wista 45s, a couple of Linhof rails, and a Sinar knocking around somewhere. Personally, I am in the market for a Wista or Horseman of my own to take with me when we're finally able to move around again.

Nice to meet you all.

Ian Grant

Welcome from a Wista user I've had my 45DX nearly 35 years and it's getting worn out but still produces the goods :D

Ian

Ian Grant

Good to see a technichian knows how to use the equipment. Not so many years ago a Wovlerhampton Uni student booked out LF equipment and I had to teach him how to use it as the technicians had no clue. And then thinking back I had to sort out Hasselblad issues a few years earlier and I've never used one but same Uni :D

Ian

Fatwoul

Thank you for your warm welcomes. I'm most likely going to lurk around reading for a while before really contributing, but I thought I'd make myself known first.