Formapan 200 - Speed rating and Reciprocity

Muzz

For reasons of economy I am starting out with Formapan 200 (5x4). The product tech data gives rather hazy info around Reciprocity compensation. Does anyone out there have practical, rather than theoretical knowledge of the compensation required as exposure increases. Also there are many suggestions around rating it at 100, I don't want to overly extend the thread but are there any further comments. I am going to use Bellini Eco Range developer.

I've been using Fomapan 200 for around 15 or 16 years, I did tests an found it best at 100 ISO, development time is around 25% less than the other films I use.

This was my comments on reciprocity 12 years ago: t 1 second it only only needed around half a stop (recommendation is 1.5 stops) and at lower light levels 10 seconds it was about a stop (not the 3 stops recommended). These test were made in poor daylight 1 second @ f8 100 EI and very low interior lighting 10 seconds @ f8. These are the conditions the film will be used in.

That was based on actual test shots in low daylight. early twylight. If it's indoors with articial light rember ISO speeds are lower in Tugsten light, that includes warm hite equivalents.

Ian

I have done densiometric testing on a range of films including Kodak, Ilford, Arista, Efke, and Agfa and with a number of different developers in some cases. Without exception, when agitating normally as per the developer recommendations and assuming your thermometer, meter, and shutters are reasonably correct, every single film I have tested showed an effective ASA of 1/2 the box rated speed.

I therefore no longer test. I just start out at 1/2 box speed and reduce development about 20% from recommended at time/temp and get strong negatives every time.