Digital Pentax Spot Meter for Black and White Film Photography

Ian-Barber

Admin
Interesting video by Tim Layton on using a Digital Pentax Spot Meter for Black and White Film Photography

Well, no offense to Mr. Layton...he's a fine photographer...but, he does leave out critical information in that video which I'm sure he follows in his own practice of exposing B&W film.

Well, no offense to Mr. Layton...he's a fine photographer...but, he does leave out critical information in that video which I'm sure he follows in his own practice of exposing B&W film.

Would love to hear about the critical information which has been left out especially as I am new to large format and only use black and white film

I'd be interested as well in knowing. It seemed fine as far as it went; I'm wondering if you're referring to measuring only the shadows and not the highlights as well, to determine the subject brightness range and hence whether the exposure and developement should be adjusted to compress or expand the scale.

If the brightness range is a little high and you want to reduce the development time to hold the high values back, is it a matter of trial an error by how much you reduce the development time per stop or is there a more accurate way.

I should have replied to your earlier thread, but I'm behind...

One man's trial and error is another man's scientific testing. I suppose the difference lies in the degree of control applied, and whether the trials are made in advance of need just to be prepared. There is certainly a case to made for regarding all exposure and development as being trial and error when you first start. Variables in accuracy of aperture markings, shutter speeds, metering techniques and the meter itself, developer and agitation methods, accuracy of thermometer and amount of temperature drift as possible variables make it seem almost impossible to ever get it right!