Pyrocat-HD: First test results ... Wow

thronobulax

By way of background, I've been photographing and processing since the late 1960s in every format from 16mm to 4x5. My go-tos have been HC-110B for most things and PMK Pyro for long SBRs, favoring Agfapan APX-100 (of which I have much squirreled away) and Tri-X. I split VC print everything. Along the way I've tried a lot of other film/dev combos.

Upon the recommendation of someone here who is also on the pure-silver list (again, abject apologies for not remembering the name) I decided to try Pyrocat-HD. In particular I wanted to test the claims that it handles long SBRs, shows better tonality, and prints easier than other developers. So ... I gave it the mother of all tests - a very long SBR on 35mm using an old Leica IIIf with an uncoated 50mm f/3.5 Elmar. I used Agfapan APX-100 exposed at ASA 50, open tank developed @68F for 12 min. Twice a minute agitation.

Ummm... WOW. Shooting into the setting sun backlighting an old industrial building, the sky has this creamy, nearly grainless texture to it. I mentioned this on pure-silver... it feels more like a 120 neg than 35 mm. More importantly, it was (relatively) easy to print. (The prints are wet right now, or you'd get to see some of this.)

More to follow, but it would seem that the various claims made for this stuff are legitimate.

mpirie

There are a number of us on this forum that use Pyrocat-HD as their main developer.

It can be fickle, but once you tune-in to its foibles, then it is an outstanding developer.

Mike

Ian Grant