Preference for Black and White?

Discussion in 'Talk About Anything Photography Related' started by Carl Hall, Sep 7, 2016.

1. Carl Hall

Carl Hall Member

Production Support Engineer
    Home Page:
    I've noticed that a lot more black and white photos have been shared on this forum than colour photos; at the moment there are 32 black and white threads and only three colour. Just curious as to the reasons why people prefer to use black and white film over colour? Is it the look and tones of black and white that you love? Is it the ease of home processing combined with cheaper costs? Or is it because you like to wet print your photos?

I've used a lot more black and white film than I have used colour so far, but that's mainly because I'm still very new to LF and the cheaper cost means that I can buy a lot more film to practice on (Fomapan 100 works out about 60p per sheet, compared to £4+ a sheet for Ektar). Also I find that home processing is much simpler with B&W and I can do it in a spare hour after work. Eventually when I've improved enough (so in about 30 years :D ) I plan to shoot an even mixture of B&W and colour, and would love to work with slide film as well.

2. Ian-Barber

Ian-Barber Administrator Staff Member

Home Page:
    For me, I have concentrated on black and white for many years simply because of my colour blind issue. I would like to try some autumn colours with 5x4 but not been able to process them at home does slightly put me off as well.

3. Stephen Batey

Stephen Batey Well-Known Member

None (retired)
    There are historical reasons - when I started, a 36 exp B&W 35mm film cost about £6 (allowing for inflation) and £36 for Kodachrome. Colour prints - because of the print cost - were more expensive than Kodachrome. It was cheaper to use B&W.

That was then. Now I still prefer black and white, for the following reasons: