Issues With First Attempt At Pyrocat-HD Semi-Stand

thronobulax

Very Active Poster
I decided to experiment with semi-stand development and the results are ... not good. The negs appear to have almost no detail in them. Tech info follows in hope someone can spot something dumb I did. Meter, thermometer, and film are known good. I found this dilution and starting point from Sandy King on the web somewhere for Delta 100. While I realize this is quite different than APX 100, I thought I'd get *some* kind of results here:

Agfapan APX 100
EI 80
8 5x4 sheets developed in open tank with hangers
2L of Pyrocat-HD mixed 1.5:1:150 (20ml A, 13.33ml B, 2L distilled water)
5 minute prewash in running water
90 seconds initial continuous agitation
15 sec agitation at 15min and 30min mark

At first blush, there seems to be very little/no exposure detail on these negs.

Looking for dumb or obvious errors and/or suggestions for better times or dilutions.

TIA

I’m no expert on Pyrocat, but you are asking for “really dumb” ideas. Is it possible that the negs are actually underexposed? I only mention this because you do. It seems unlikely.
Recently I used a different meter and consistently mis-read fractions of seconds for whole seconds. With the reciprocity for Foma added in, I had negs I could use for blackout curtains.

It could be the case, but for the life of me, I don't know how. The meter is known to be accurate. I guess I can go see if there is a shutter problem, but that seems doubtful.

The negs are dry now and there is only the slightest hint of a latent image. This is film from a box I've developed conventionally with no issues.

I only use Pyrocat HD now, I began using it around 2004. I don't use semi-stamd because I get superb results using it normally and don'tsee the need.

My guess is that 1.5A + 1B to 150 is the issue 1+1 to 200 may be better.

Ian