Good Afternoon.

Brianm

Good Afternoon,

Glad to be here! I'm up in Inverness and have been shooting 5x4 for a couple of years now, as well as medium format and 35mm, initially starting with an Intrepid MK2 then moving onto a Shen Hao which is my primary camera now. I predominantly shoot black & white on HP5+ developing my own film at home using a Stearman tank and print at a local community darkroom. I'm always looking at different ways of doing things and picking up tips and tricks along the way. I shot for a living for a number of years, on digital, but gave it up to shoot for myself nowand the challenge large format shooting gives. I'm looking forward to trawling through threads for information and chatting to some of you along the way.

Hi Brian,

Welcome to the forum from another large format addict from close to Ullapool!!

Mike

Welcome. There's almost too much scenery around you. Looking forward to seeing some of it.

Welcome, it's a few years since I was last in Inverness, great part of the world.

I use quite a bit of HP5 when I need to work hand-held (with a Super Graphic) or when I need to use a faster shutter speed, it's an excellent film. However often with 5x4 it's advantageous to use long exposures or even multiple exposures so my main films have always been around 100 ISO. Of course we all work differently :D

Ian

Thanks all! Mike, when I had my campervan I spent a lot of time up around your area. Very picturesque and a great place to shoot.
David M, it’s surprisingly very difficult to get near the good spots because of the sheer amount of tourists that now visit the area. Apparently this is due to, In a large part, the Outlander show on Amazon. Who knew?
Keith, I knew I wasn’t the only one! I tried other methods of film developing but the spp works for me although I have been known to accidentally put 2 films onto the same side of the holder. In fact, I seem to make a lot of mistakes when shooting large format but I’ll persevere!