First contact print

Discussion in 'Black And White' started by David Webb, Feb 24, 2017.

1. David Webb

David Webb New Member

This is a half plate contact print of a section of the River Leen near Papplewick. The film was 60-70 years old Kodak Super-xx, hence the uneven exposure. The sky was very overcast, so I had to print at grade 5 to get enough overall contrast. If I was to make another copy I would probably try burning in the top edge to match the other three.

River Leen Papplewick.jpg

Toyo half-plate field camera.
    Kodak Super-xx film (expired).
    ASA 16.
    3 secs @ f16.
    Paper: Fomabrom Variant 112 matt.

2. Alan Clark

Alan Clark New Member

I find it interesting how we react to photographs.
    As a fisherman my first thought was, it looks a bit small to fish but there could be something worrth catching in there.
    As a photographer my first thought was, what a shame about the fault on the film, but what nice tones are evident in this old film.
    As an artist my first thought was that long rectangular format works beautifully when horizontal, but it is hard to make it work when vertical, and the photographer has done well here.
    As a person, simply trying to look at and enjoy a picture without all the above subjective stuff getting in the way, I find it very evocative of a cold still Winter's day in the English countryside.

Perhaps I should just have said "Very nice".....

David, what are your thoughts about the fault on the film? I know some people like this sort of thing....

Alan

3. Diz

Diz Member

This scene is very reminiscent of the Cambridgeshire Fens where my wife comes from. Its also a very pleasing print, which I would be happy to display on the wall. If you were to reprint it, split grade printing might be of help to you.
    Cheers
    Diz

4. Alan Clark

Alan Clark New Member

Diz, I am not sure how split-grade printing would work here, since the print was done at grade 5...

Alan

5. David Webb

David Webb New Member