Film Drying Suggestions

gnomus

Popular Poster
I’m brand new to 5x4, but now have all I need to get started - or at least I thought I did. The one thing I’d forgotten about is a method of drying negatives after they’ve been developed. I use the Paterson clips for 35mm and 120, but I only have one pair of these and I wonder if they are, in any case, suitable.

Can anyone suggest a decent system that I can get hold of without too much difficulty in the UK?

Thanks in anticipation.

If you have a Lakeland or Ikea nearby, you can get hangers with small stainless steel clips that are ideal for drying sheet film.

Mike

If you have a Lakeland or Ikea nearby, you can get hangers with small stainless steel clips that are ideal for drying sheet film.

Mike
Thanks for the quick response, Mike. Do you mean the sort of things that I might hang my trousers on?

The rack is the sort of thing you might dry your socks on.
Film needs privacy to dry dust free. That means a space that doesn't get used much and has little air movement. Hang them and go away. A damp environment seems to discourage static.
I remember drying solutions that replaced the surface water with something that evaporated very quickly, but I don't know if they are still available. I presume, but I don't know, that they were alcohol.
I've just remembered that I posted a way to modify ordinary clothespegs on 5th May 2018.

Last edited:
I use paper clips. One end is bent out at 45 degrees. I punch a neat hole near the corner of the sheet of film, using a Paterson film holder, and insert the paper clip - from the same side that the hole was punched. Then I hang the film up in the dust-free atmosphere of a shower cubicle. The thin metal grill that is used to house the shower gel comes in handy for this. Very neat and simple. And no trapped water in a film clip to dribble down the film when you unhook it....

Alan