Dordrecht with intrepid mk3

Discussion in 'Black And White' started by roncromberge, Sep 30, 2018.

  1. roncromberge

    roncromberge Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Nederland
    So finaly got the time to develop and process 4 photos made with my new intrepid 4x5 mk3 in Dordrecht (the Netherlands)

    Film Fomapan 100 @ 50 developed in Pyrocat HD

    After development this digital workflow.

    Scanned with vuescan @ 3200 dpi raw data.
    Imported in Photoshop and converted with colorperfect, despecked.
    Loaded in DxO nik Silvereffects for the final touch.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]





    Verzonden vanaf mijn iPad met Tapatalk
     
  2. Alan9940

    Alan9940 Active Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Like 'em all, Ron. Beautiful tonality!
     
    roncromberge likes this.
  3. martin henson

    martin henson Admin Staff Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Otley West Yorkshire
    Nice set Ron although they look for want of a better word "Digital" and over processed to my eyes
     
  4. David M

    David M Well-Known Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South London
    A nice set indeed. The clocktower on the left of the first one worries me and there is an unexplained white mark on what looks like a handrail right in the centre.
    I don't see any digital artefacts.
     
    roncromberge likes this.
  5. roncromberge

    roncromberge Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Nederland
    Yes you're right.

    Except for the tonality. They don't look analog anymore. And when you zoom in the the full size images to 100 % you see the analog grain.


    Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
     
  6. David M

    David M Well-Known Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South London
    I'm not entirely sure of how an analogue version would differ. Can someone be more explicit, please?
    (I don't mean what the pixels look like at 100% magnification.)
     
  7. martin henson

    martin henson Admin Staff Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Otley West Yorkshire
    Over exaggerated edges, no smooth transition from tone to tone, digital can be quite abrupt at this, no fall off in image sharpness, to name a few, just a guess but I bet Ron has sharpened his scans tad to much
     
  8. David M

    David M Well-Known Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South London
    Hmm... yes. Fair enough. I've blown them up and I can detect a faint sharpening halo. It reminded me the kind of thing we used to see from proselytisers of high acutance developers. I didn't find anything objectionable at the normal on-screen size.
     
  9. martin henson

    martin henson Admin Staff Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Otley West Yorkshire
    I didn’t either, just an observation.
     
  10. roncromberge

    roncromberge Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Nederland
    Ha ha,

    No i didn't sharpened them.

    But it looks like it. Because the photos you're looking at are resized from approx 11000 pics to 2000 pics. Then due to the resuze algorithm you will get a over sharpened effect. And Lightroom will automatically sharpen when it export the photo. And when you upload the photo to the forum it will resize it even furtger down.

    When you look at de original photos the gradation is much much smoother.

    After all they are processed for digital print at A2 size.






    Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
     
  11. martin henson

    martin henson Admin Staff Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Otley West Yorkshire
    So you didn’t sharpen them Ron, the processing your using did, I understand.
     
  12. David M

    David M Well-Known Member Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South London
    This is worth knowing, but it would be good to find a solution. I can't think of one, but everybody else here seems cleverer than me, so there's hope.
     

Share This Page