Do You Scan & Print or Darkroom Print

Discussion in 'Talk About Digital Printing' started by Ian-Barber, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Ian-Barber

Ian-Barber Administrator Staff Member

Home Page:
    I am quite interested to hear whether you scan and inkjet pint your final work or are you strictly darkroom through and through

2. Stephen Batey

Stephen Batey Well-Known Member

None (retired)
    Quick answer: scan and inkjet print. I have a permanent darkroom with two enlargers set up on the bench, but it only gets used as a darkroom now for loading my film holders and developing tanks.

I first started looking at the inkjet route when we bought our first photographic quality inkjet printer; up to that time we'd used a daisywheel (anyone remember them?) and a black and white laser printer. My first efforts were failures, because in those days black and white prints (and I'm a black and white photographer) from inkjet printers always had colour casts. I got the most neutral results using cheap photocopier paper, but this did have some drawbacks in terms of overall print quality ;). I tried using a replacement mono ink set with a CIS with good results, but backed the wrong horse and found the inks discontinued - an experience which has put me off CIS ever since.

Then Epson brought out the 2400 which did manage neutral black and white prints; this was a great step forward. I also fractured my right elbow about 10 years ago (I'm mainly right handed) which resulted in a different sort of cast for a couple of months and difficulty in bending my arm for much longer. This meant that on the one hand (pun if you wish) I had problems loading a negative carrier in what I considered a negative-safe manner, and in using the darkroom equipment. My Nova tank was drained (and eventually placed in a cupboard) and inkjet printing became my norm.